Muireann Ní Shuilleabháin appointed as PSI Council President

Minister Stephen Donnelly has appointed six members to the PSI Council this week. The new appointments are John Given, Katherine Morrow, Rory O’Donnell and Grainne Power, alongside Sean Reilly and Marie Louisa Power, who were re-appointed for a further four-year term following their re-election.

The PSI has also today elected Muireann Ní Shuilleabháin as President and Rory O’Donnell as Vice-President of the Council.

Muireann is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin and has 30 years extensive experience, working in many facets of the pharmacy profession. More than twenty-five of those years were as a hospital pharmacist, both in Ireland and the USA (California and Washington states). Her overall remit is in Medication Safety and she has been an active advocate for quality and safety in medicines management at a local and national level. Muireann has further experience in Healthcare Management, Clinical Governance, Clinical Pharmacy, Consultancy Pharmacy, Accreditation processes, Pharmacy Practice and Project Leadership. She has been in a Chief/ Superintendent role since 2001. Muireann has a Black Belt in Lean Six Sigma and is at the final stages of her law degree (LLBH) from Griffith College Dublin.

Rory has served on the PSI Council from 2015 – 2019 and has been re-elected to the Council. Rory graduated in 1990 from Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen with a BSc(Hons)Pharm degree. He also holds a degree in Natural Science (Chemistry major) from Trinity College Dublin and a diploma in Strategy and Innovation from the Irish Management Institute. Rory has wide experience serving within the profession of pharmacy, having served as President of the Irish Pharmacy Union 2012-2014 and more recently has served as President of the PSI Council for two terms. He is the current Chair of the totalhealth pharmacy group and has served on several commercial boards as well as having some experience in the charity sector. He operates a community pharmacy in Gweedore, Co. Donegal.

Both Muireann and Rory will continue, with the Council, to oversee substantial projects for the remainder of 2021. Appointments are made to the PSI Council for a four-year term. The President and Vice-President of the PSI are elected for a one year term, and may hold office for up to two years. All appointments are effective immediately, with the Council continuing in its governing capacity to oversee the functions of the PSI, as the pharmacy regulator, to assure trust in pharmacy through effective regulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please Confirm

This website is only for the eyes of medical professionals. Are you a medical professional?