St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group announces new board appointment

The Board of SVHG is very pleased to announce the appointment of Mark Ryan to its Board of Directors.

Mark was Country Managing Director of Accenture in Ireland between 2005 and 2014 and has successfully operated at senior management levels in Ireland and internationally. During his career with Accenture, he spent extended periods working in the US and UK. Mark served in numerous management and executive roles in delivering major strategy, IT and business change programmes both locally and internationally. Mark brings a strong understanding of commercial leadership and business perspective to the Board. He is a non-executive director of DCC Plc, Wells Fargo Bank International, Econiq, Publicis and Star2Star Communications (USA).

James Menton, Chair of SVHG commented:  “I am delighted to welcome Mark to the Board. He brings extensive experience in key areas of strategic management across a broad range of industry sectors both on a national and international level. Mark is joining at an important stage of growth for SVHG. We will have a new governance structure as we complete the transfer of ownership from the RSC, and we’re also entering into a strategic planning cycle to 2030 which will address the many challenges and opportunities available to SVHG in today’s dynamic and unpredictable Irish healthcare landscape.”

The Board of St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group is now as follows:

  • James Menton, Chair
  • Dr. David Brophy
  • Deirdre Burns
  • John Compton
  • Gerard Flood
  • Ann Hargaden
  • Myles Lee
  • Sharen McCabe
  • Dr. Rhona Mahony
  • Imelda Reynolds
  • Mark Ryan


Board biographies:

 James Menton, Chair, St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group

James Menton was appointed a Director and Chair of the St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group (SVHG) on September 29th 2014. A Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland, he was previously a senior partner in both Andersen and KPMG .He was Chairman of the Quinn Group and of ANG DAC – the parent company of the Fields and Fraser Hart jewellery store chain in Ireland and the UK. He is also currently Chair of CWSI, which provides security and management solutions to the mobile communications industry.

Dr. David Brophy
Dr. Brophy is a Consultant Radiologist in St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group with a special interest in Vascular and Interventional Radiology. He is an Associate Clinical Professor at UCD School of Medicine and a Fellow of the Faculty of Radiologists, RCSI; a Fellow of the Royal College of Radiologists, London; a Diplomate of the American Board of Radiology and a Fellow of the Cardiovascular and Interventional Radiology Society of Europe.

 Deirdre Burns

A former Managing Director of Boots Ireland, Deirdre Burns has served as Supply Chain Director of Walgreens Boots Alliance and Retail Director of UK Mobile Telecoms business, EE. She has over 25 years of global experience at board and senior leadership levels in pharmacy, healthcare, FMCG and telco sectors. She is currently Chairperson of the Travel Department and is also on the board of a number of UK and Irish semi-state and private companies, including An Post.

 John Compton

John Compton was Chief Executive of the Regional Health and Social Care Board in Northern Ireland from 2009 to 2013. He previously held various posts as both a practitioner and manager in the Northern Ireland social service system, and in 2011 was the author of “Transforming Your Care”, a strategic review of the social care services in Northern Ireland. In 2013 he was awarded a CBE for services to health and social care.

 Gerard Flood

Gerard is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland and a former Partner and Head of Corporate Finance in KPMG. A board member of a number of public and private companies, he has advised many of Ireland’s senior business executives and their organisations for over 30 years.

 Ann Hargaden

Ann was the investment director in Lisney for over 20 years. She specialised in advising institutions, property companies and private investors in acquiring and selling commercial investment property. Recent experience includes projects for major national and international clients such as State Street Global Advisors, F&C, Irish Life, Salix, Ballymun Regeneration and Blackrock Clinic. Ann is a fellow of the Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland and the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. In 1997 she was the first and only woman to be appointed president of the Society of Chartered Surveyors in its 100-year history.

 Myles Lee

Between 2009 and 2013, Myles Lee was Group Chief Executive of CRH plc, Ireland’s largest industrial company. Myles, who has extensive international business experience, is also a non-executive director of Babcock International Group PLC, Ingersoll-Rand PLC and UDG Healthcare plc.

 Dr Rhona Mahony

Dr. Mahony retired as Master of the National Maternity Hospital (NMH) on 31st December 2018. She is an obstetrician and gynaecologist, a specialist in maternal and fetal medicine and an Honorary Clinical Professor with RCSI. Dr. Mahony is a Fellow of the RCOG UK and of the RCPI in Ireland. She is a member of the Institute of Directors of Ireland and serves on the board of the Little Museum of Dublin.

 Sharen McCabe

Sharen McCabe is Executive Chair of McCabe’s Pharmacy, and has significant business experience across a wide range of disciplines from HR to strategy development, financing and acquisitions. She is also a non-executive director of Eason and Son Limited and a trustee of Retail Excellence Ireland.

 Imelda Reynolds

Imelda Reynolds is Chair and Partner of Beauchamps Solicitors. Her practice areas include corporate governance, commercial property and franchising and she advises a range of public bodies and public and private companies on all aspects of governance, such as strategy, compliance and conflict management. From 2001 to 2008 Imelda served as Beauchamps’ Managing Partner. From June 2012 to December 2014, she was a board member of the Dublin Docklands Development Authority. She was Director of Dublin Chamber of Commerce from 2003 to 2013 and was President of Dublin Chamber of Commerce in 2011. Imelda was also a member of the Governing Body of Dublin Institute of Technology from 2008 to 2018, Chair of DIT’s Audit Committee from 2011 – 2018 and in January 2019 was appointed as Deputy Chair of the Governing Body of Technological University Dublin, Ireland’s first Technological University.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please Confirm

This website is only for the eyes of medical professionals. Are you a medical professional?